Informations about our concert on June 1, 2013
Concert begins at 9.30 p.m. in the Sa Taronja theatre
Tickets: 20 Euro (members of Sa Taronja: 12 €)
free entrance for Students and children under 16 free
Menu in the restaurant Limón y Chelo at 7 p.m. (25€)
Tamas Vasarhelyi - violine
Maximilian von Pfeil - cello
Paul Rivinius - piano
Franz Schubert: Piano trio B major No. 1 D. 99 (1827)
Allegro moderato - Andante un poco mosso - Scherzo. Allegro - Rondo. Allegro vivace
- intermission -
Antonín Dvořák: piano trio No. 4 „Dumky“ in E minor, Op. 90
Lento Maestoso - Poco Adagio - Andante - Andante Moderato - Allegro - Lento Maestoso
The programme
After the exquisite Schubert piano trio that opens the programme, we are served up the "Dumky" Trio by Antonin Dvorak, inspired by the composer's love of Slavic folksongs. (Dumka - plural dumky - describes a psychological state between melancholy and reverie, or "an epic ballad of brooding intensity.” ) The Trio is one of Dvorák’s most original and characteristic works. Rather than following the traditional chamber music forms of three or four movements beginning with one in sonata-form, he cast the Dumky Trio in six movements, each in a different key, and each presenting the characteristic alternation of moods of his conception of the dumka.
The musicians
You will rarely see a violinist play with more verve, passion and joy than Tamás Vásárhelyi, violinist extraordinaire, born in Germany to Hungarian parents. No newcomer to Sa Taronja, Tamás first played for us in 2007 and again in 2012. A passionate lover of chamber music, he is now with the Chamber Orchestra of Basel, and has played with the Berlin Philharmonic and been a member of the Mahler chamber orchestra and the Mondial Piano Quartet, seen regularly on the European stage.
He is accompanied by cellist Maximilian von Pfeil, who not only has worked regularly with the DSO in Berlin since 2003 but also plays with the Basel Chamber Orchestra, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the SWR Stuttgart Orchestra and the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig. He plays a cello made in the mid-nineteenth century by Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume, a great French luthier who followed in the footsteps of Stradivarius. Like many of the superlative musicians who feature in our "Serenata Berlin" series, he is in love with chamber music, and flies all over the continent - and the world - to bring pleasure to music lovers and to himself. This is the second time he has come to Sa Taronja, where he appreciates the intimacy of the performance space and the enthusiasm of the audience.
We are honoured to have Paul Rivinius to complete the trio, on his third trip to Sa Taronja. Much in demand as a top chamber musician, a pianist (and prizewinning horn-player) laden with awards, he has played with the Clemente Trio in New York's Carnegie Hall and London's Wigmore Hall, among many other world class concert halls. In addition, Paul Rivinius has played with his brothers Benjamin, Gustav and Siegfried in the Rivinius Piano Quartet and in the Mozart Piano Quartet since 2004.
Franz Schubert
Antonin Dvorak